iggandfriends

Life, crafty stuff, long walks, thoughts, and little oddities.

Mist and seagulls

12 Comments

I wake to stars still shining above me. Night blue sky gradually lightens with the coming dawn. The tide-line is invisible, hidden by a sea of mist. The headlands seems layered behind each other, timidly peeking out from foggy skirts. Trails of low cloud dance around me. I scramble across rocks damp from the sea-haar, avoiding the bright-green seaweed that tangles underfoot. The world is fast disappearing under the blanket of white. Walking through the edge of the incoming waves, I am surrounded by muffled sounds. A seagull launches himself into the sky, disappearing into obscurity. Slowly the sun shines through, brightening the gloom. The veil lifts – light is revealed.

misty port wiliam

N.B Haar is a word used for sea mist or sea fog. It’s used in the midlands and north of England and in Scotland.

Author: iggandfriends

Taking time out to ponder life and everything else. This is the space where I press the pause button on my busy life to reconnect with God, to re-energize, and focus on my creativity. Time out to blow bubbles, walk on the beach, write some stuff, do some needlework, and generally enjoy life once again. You can view my main blog at www.iggandfriends.wordpress.com. I also have another blog at www,faithinthehome.wordpress.com, and a arty/crafty one at http://52weeksofcreations.wordpress.com/. I hope you enjoy visiting :)

12 thoughts on “Mist and seagulls

  1. I love the way you capture moments with your word-and-photo combinations – feels like I am there.

  2. Love it and the sea haar 🙂

  3. Tranquil-love this one;
    Hagar::& now I know another fine word, thanks for including the N.B

  4. Very nice Igg. Love it.

  5. That is looking so much more like my home. The fog…a beneficial vapour.

Please feel free to leave a comment. I love to hear from you :)

